American Culture · American Literature · Classic · Collection · Contemporary · Excerpt · Passage · Poetry

T.R. Hummer

This body, though fragile, fits.The intervals slip easily out of the throat:Minor third, flat seventh, flat fifth. Everything now is purpose and light,Evening air transparent as a glass of everclear.Sorrow in the music, yes, but hollow bones float His blueness, a flash in infinity, sheer atmosphere—Maybe holy, he thinks, but don’t quote him on it:Once… Continue reading T.R. Hummer

Rate this:

2008 New York State Poet Laureate · American Culture · American Literature · Contemporary · Excerpt · Online Anthology · Online Magazine · Passage · Periodical · Poetry

Jean Valentine

How deep we met in the sea, my love,My double, my Siamese heart, my whiskery,Fish-belly, glue-eyed prince, my dearest black nudge,How flat and reflective my eye reflecting youBlue, gorgeous in the weaving grassesI wound round for your crown, how I loved your touchOn my fair, speckled breast, or was it my own turning;How nobly you… Continue reading Jean Valentine

Rate this: