Anthology · Classic · Collection · Generation of '27 · Modernism · Poetry · Spanish Culture · Spanish Literature

Federico García Lorca

Romance Sonambulo Green, how I want you green. Green wind. Green branches. The ship out on the sea and the horse on the mountain. With the shade around her waist she dreams on her balcony, green flesh, her hair green, with eyes of cold silver. Green, how I want you green. Under the gypsy moon,… Continue reading Federico García Lorca

Rate this:

Classic · Excerpt · Fiction · Novel · Passage · Philosophy · Quote · Religion · Russian Culture · Russian Futurism · Russian Literature

Fyodor Dostoevsky

I have a longing for life, and I go on living in spite of logic. Though I may not believe in the order of the universe, yet I love the sticky little leaves as they open in spring. I love the blue sky, I love some people, whom one loves you know sometimes without knowing… Continue reading Fyodor Dostoevsky

Rate this:

Anthology · Classic · Collection · Excerpt · German Culture · German Literature · Inspirational · Motivational · Passage · Philosophy · Poetry · Sonnet · Spirituality

Rainer Maria Rilke

The trees you planted in childhood have grown too heavy. You cannot bring them along. Give yourselves to the air, to what you cannot hold. — Rainer Maria Rilke, from “Sonnet 4,” The Sonnets of Orpheus, in A Year with Rilke: Daily Readings from the Best of Rainer Maria Rilke, trans. & edited by Anita… Continue reading Rainer Maria Rilke

Rate this: