American Culture · American Literature · Classic · Collection · Modernism · Poetry

Wallace Stevens

Peter Quince at the Clavier                                           I Just as my fingers on these keys Make music, so the selfsame sounds On my spirit make a music, too. Music is feeling, then, not sound; And thus it is that what I feel, Here in this room, desiring you, Thinking of your blue-shadowed silk, Is music. It… Continue reading Wallace Stevens

Rate this:

Adventure · British Culture · Children's Fantasy · Children's Literature · Childrens · Classic · English Literature · Excerpt · Fantasy · Fiction · Passage · Quote · Young Adult

Lewis Carroll

I could tell you my adventures—beginning from this morning,” said Alice a little timidly; “but it’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then. ― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass. (Watermill Pr, November 1992) Originally published November 26, 1865 and 1871, respectfully.

Rate this:

Anthology · Classic · Collection · Excerpt · German Culture · German Literature · Passage · Poetry

Rainer Maria Rilke

Streets that I chanced upon, you had just walked down them and vanished. And sometimes, in a shop, the mirrors were still dizzy with your presence and, startled, gave back my too-sudden image. Who knows? Perhaps the same bird echoed through both of us yesterday, separate, in the evening… —  Rainer Maria Rilke, from “You… Continue reading Rainer Maria Rilke

Rate this:

American Culture · American Literature · Classic · Collection · Confessional · Contemporary · Correspondence · Epistolary · Excerpt · Memoir · Non-fiction · Passage · Quote

Anne Sexton

I am younger each year at the first snow. When I see it, suddenly, in the air, all little and white and moving; then I am in love again and very young and I believe everything. ― Anne Sexton in a letter to W.D. Snodgrass (November 28, 1958), Anne Sexton: A Self-Portrait in Letters. (Mariner… Continue reading Anne Sexton

Rate this: