Anthology · Argentine Culture · Argentine Literature · Classic · Collection · Compilation · Poetry · Postmodernism · Spanish Literature

Jorge Luis Borges

Not a single star will be left in the night.
The night will not be left.
I will die and, with me,
the weight of the intolerable universe.
I shall erase the pyramids, the medallions,
the continents and faces.
I shall erase the accumulated past.
I shall make dust of history, dust of dust.
Now I am looking on the final sunset.
I am hearing the last bird.
I bequeath nothingness to no one

— Jorge Luis Borges, “The Suicide,” Selected Poems 1923-1967 (Allen Lane The Penguin Press, 1972)

Leave a Reply

