Bildungsroman · British Culture · Classic · English Literature · Excerpt · Gothic · Historical Fiction · Novel · Passage · Quote · Romance · Victorian

Charlotte Brontë

If God had gifted me with some beauty and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me as it is now for me to leave you. I am not talking to you now through the medium of custom, conventionalities, nor even of mortal flesh–it is my spirit that adresses… Continue reading Charlotte Brontë

Rate this:

American Culture · American Literature · Anthology · Classic · Collection · Online Anthology · Online Magazine · Periodical · Poetry

Janet Loxley Lewis

I have lived so long On the cold hills alone … I loved the rock And the lean pine trees, Hated the life in the turfy meadow, Hated the heavy, sensuous bees. I have lived so long Under the high monotony of starry skies, I am so cased about With the clean wind and the… Continue reading Janet Loxley Lewis

Rate this: