Absurdism · Classic · Excerpt · Fiction · French Culture · French Literature · Passage · Philosophy · Quote

Albert Camus

When I look at my life and its secret colours, I feel like bursting into tears. Like that sky. It’s rain and sun both, noon and midnight… I think of the lips I’ve kissed, and of the wretched child I was, and of the madness of life and the ambition that sometimes carries me away. I’m all those things at once. I’m sure there are times when you wouldn’t even recognize me. Extreme in misery, excessive in happiness – I can’t say it. — Albert Camus, A Happy Death. (Penguin Books, Limited (UK) February 28, 2002) Originally published 1971.

Leave a Reply

