Bengali Culture · Bengali Literature · Classic · Collection · Contextual Modernism · Excerpt · Faith · Indian Culture · Indian Literature · Inspirational · Motivational · Poetry · Spirituality

Rabindranath Tagore

I dreamt that she sat by my head, tenderly ruffling my hair with
her fingers, playing the melody of her touch. I looked at her face
and struggled with my tears, till the agony of unspoken words burst
my sleep like a bubble.
    I sat up and saw the glow of the Milky Way above my window,
like a world of silence on fire, and I wondered if at this moment
she had a dream that rhymed with mine.

—Rabindranath Tagore, “Lover’s Gifts XXVIII: I Dreamt,” Lover’s Gift. (Rupa & Co. January 1, 2002) Originally published 1917.

One thought on “Rabindranath Tagore

Leave a Reply

