Classic · Collection · Generation of '27 · Ghazal · Modernism · Poetry · Spanish Culture · Spanish Literature

Federico García Lorca

Ghazal of the Terrible Presence    

I want the river to stand still,
And the wind to stop stirring the air.

I want the night to remain sightless,
And my heart to beat without flowering gold.

I want the oxen to speak with the leaves,
And the earthworm to die of darkness.

The skull’s teeth to shine a bright light,
And yellows to flood the silk.

I can see the pain of the wounded night
As it fights, entangled with day.

I can bear the sunset of poison green
And the warping arc where time begins to sag,

But I can’t look upon you clean and naked,
Like a black cactus broken open in the brush.

Leave me longing for distant planets,
But don’t show me your virgin waist.

Federico García Lorca, Diván del Tamarit. Translated by Amy Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

