Anthology · British Culture · British Literature · Collection · Excerpt · Gothic · Horror · Magical Realism · Mystery · Postmodernism · Quote · Short Stories

Angela Carter

I am the lady of the castle. My name is exile. My name is anguish. My name is longing. Far from the world on the windy crests of the mountain, I am kept in absolute seclusion, my time passes in an endless reverie, a perpetual swooning. I am both the Sleeping Beauty and the enchanted castle; the princess drowses in the castle of her flesh. – Vampirella (p. 9) by Angela Carter. The Curious Room: Collected Dramatic Works. London: Chatto & Windus Limited Random House (1996).

Leave a Reply

